Published on:

CHP Arrests Mom for DWI and Endangering Her Child


A Benicia, CA, woman was taken into custody last Friday by California Highway Patrol (CHP) officers; sources have told a New York Criminal Lawyer. While a woman being arrested for an alleged DWI is, unfortunately, not uncommon, what brings more to this case is that the woman’s 8-year old daughter was involved.

The incident occurred as the woman was westbound on I-780 at approximately 6:18 p.m. when she apparently lost control of her vehicle which then rolled over, sources reported to a Nassau County Criminal Lawyer. As a result of this, the mother’s 8-year old daughter was seriously injured due to her being thrown from her seat into the front seat. The head trauma that the child suffered necessitated her to be airlifted from the crash site to Children’s Hospital in Oakland, CA, for treatment. The mother had only sustained minor injuries.

According to the CHP, they performed a series of field sobriety tests on the girl’s mother. Field sobriety tests are given in order for officers to determine the sobriety of individuals they suspect may be intoxicated. Based on the results of the sobriety tests, the mother was taken into custody and taken to a DWI processing center. The woman refused a breathalyzer and requested that a blood test be done instead. The results of that blood test had not been returned as of this writing. After the blood sample was taken, the woman was taken to the County Jail and booked for DWI and child endangerment charges. The woman’s bail was set at $55,000.

Although the woman stated that both she and her daughter were wearing seatbelts at the time of the crash, it has not been confirmed. The condition of the 8-year old child is also unknown at this time.

In the State of California, anyone over the age of 21 that has been arrested for driving under the influence (DWI) that has taken a blood or breath test, or (if applicable) a urine test, and the results showed 0.08% BAC or more can expect to lose their license. If the court determines that, the accused will lose their license they can be subjected to that loss of license for 4-month suspension for a first offense DWI and a 1-year suspension for a second DWI conviction within a 10-year period.

A DWI charge can greatly impact your life, whether you are guilty of the charges or not. Criminal charges can affect employment, and personal relationships. If you are charged with a crime it is important to always sure your rights are protected. Whether you have been charged with a DWI, sex crimes, or theft charge, take prompt action and seek legal counsel right away. If convicted, the penalties for a criminal charge can be significant, and include jail time, monetary fines, probation and community service.

When you face legal challenges, you want a lawyer with the experience to help you tackle them head on. Contact Stephen Bilkis and Associates for guidance and a free consultation. We will ensure that your rights are protected.

Contact Information